Dinner No. 5: Orange Cashew Chicken

Standard

Presentation: (how did you like the way it looked on the plate?)

Nice! It looked good, but tasted better!

Taste: (pretty self-explanatory!)

Probably the best meal I have ever cooked.  I don’t usually care for orange chicken from the restaurant but this was fantastic!  I made it twice already!

Cost Efficient: (did the prices justify the taste?)

I was satisfied… the only outrageously expensive item was the honey roasted cashews the recipe called for, but it was so worth it.  Plus, Once I bought the ingredients, I was able to make the meal again.  In fact, I think I have enough to make it once more, even!

Time to Cook: (The recipe says 30 minutes… did it lie?)

About triple the promise.  I do NOT like to handle raw chicken… I have decided it makes my fingers cold, and the little fat pieces are gross. I guess the most frustrating part was cutting the chicken thighs into tiny pieces.  NOT fun!

Make Again: (would you make it again, or recommend it to someone else?)

Already did!

p.s. I just thought you might like to hear a funny side story about this meal… I had never cooked rice before, and didn’t know that once the rice goes into the boiling pot you are supposed to turn down the burner to low.  I guess you could say that I found that out the hard way… It went something like this:

(about 15 minutes after the rice had been cooking)

DAD: “Do you smell that? It smells like something is burning…”

ME: (already noticed the smell… hoping that if I ignore the issue it will go away) “Yeah, but everything’s fine I’m sure”

COURTNEY (8 yrs old): “Kelli, what’s that smell? Are you burning something”

ME: “No, everything’s fine!” (still hoping that if I ignore the problem it will go away)

SARAH (7 yrs old): “That smell’s horrible… Dad, do you smell that?”

DAD: “Yes.  Kelli- you need to go figure out what’s happening!”

ME: “ok, but there’s nothing wrong… I followed directions!”

-so I go in, scoop the rice, and find charred white rice (that is now more like brown rice).  My sister Courtney says, “Kelli, if you burnt the rice, I’m not eating it!”

One response »

Leave a Reply

